Download pictures of banknotes, coins, emblems and flags presented on this site

Gold Coins

Interesting about the money

The first paper money in the world

Banks of the world

Travellers of the world

Nations of the world

Silver Coins

World currency

Recreation and resorts

All about inflation

World Languages

Financial investments

Travel all over the world

Metal leus and bans - modern coins of Moldova

  • Name:
  • Monetary unit:
  • Capital:
  • Area:
  • Language:
  • the Country code:
  • Moldova, Republic
  • Moldavian leu
  • Kishinev
  • of 33 700 sq. km
  • Moldavian (state), Russian, etc.
  • MD (MDA) 498

Republic Moldova Monetary unit is the leu which consists of 100 bans. In monetary circulation there are coins of denomination of 1, 5, 10, 25, 50 bans.

Between 1918-1940 and 1941 - 1944 years when Moldova was a part of Romania, the Romanian leu addressed also in east part of Moldova. The Moldavian leu has been entered on November, 29th, 1993, after disintegration Soviet Union and creations of independent Republic Moldova. It has replaced circulating coupons at a rate of 1 leu=1000 coupons.

In Dnestr region, partially recognised state, in circulation there is a Dnestr ruble instead of the Moldavian leu.

Coins of Moldova consist of aluminium 1, 5, 10 and 25 bans and a coin of 50 bans from Aluminum-Bronze an alloy. In 1993 issue of aluminium coins of 50 bans, and coins of 1 and 5 leus from a Nickel-plated steel has been manufactured, but all of them soon have been withdrawn from circulation.

Nominal value: 1 ban
Stamping: 1996
the Material: Aluminium
the Note:
the Obverse 1 ban of Moldova the Reverse 1 ban of Moldova
Nominal value: 10 bans
Stamping: 1998
the Material: Aluminium
the Note:
the Obverse of 10 bans of Moldova the Reverse of 10 bans of Moldova
Nominal value: 50 bans
Stamping: 1997
the Material: Aluminum-Bronze an alloy
the Note:
the Obverse of 50 bans of Moldova the Reverse of 50 bans of Moldova

Notes Moldova

Save on your hotel -

Main Banknotes Coins Articles Sources

Copyright (c) RKa 2010-2014