Download pictures of banknotes, coins, emblems and flags presented on this site

Gold Coins

Interesting about the money

The first paper money in the world

Banks of the world

Travellers of the world

Nations of the world

Silver Coins

World currency

Recreation and resorts

All about inflation

World Languages

Financial investments

Travel all over the world

Metal ngultrums and chetrums - modern coins of Bhutan

  • Name:
  • Monetary unit:
  • Capital:
  • Area:
  • Language:

  • the Country code:
  • Bhutan, Kingdom

  • the Ngultrum (BTN)
  • Thimphu
  • of 47 000 sq. km
  • a dzongkha (state), various Tibetan and Nepalese dialects
  • BT (BTN) 064

Since 1974 national monetary unit of Bhutan is the ngultrum which consists of 100 chetrums. Coins of denomination 5, 10, 25, 50 chetrums and 1 ngultrum are manufactured.

The First series of coins of Bhutan has been manufactured in 1974. Into it entered: aluminium coins in 5 and 10 chetrum, Aluminum-Bronze coins in 20 chetrum, and as Copper-Nickel coins in 25 chetrum and 1 ngultrum. The coin in 5 chetrum was square, and 10-chetrumovaja the coin had scallops the form. A series of new coins has been manufactured in 1979 and consisted from bronze 5 and 10-chetrumovyh coins, and coins in 25, 50 chetrums and 1 ngultrum have been rapped out from a Copper-Nickel. In the same series the part of coins in 25 chetrums has been made from Aluminum-Bronze an alloy. Now coins in 5 and 10 chetrums are by degrees removed from the circulation.

Nominal value: 10 chetrums
Stamping: 1975
the Material: Aluminium
the Note:
the Obverse of 10 chetrums of Bhutan the Reverse of 10 chetrums of Bhutan
Nominal value: 25 chetrums
Stamping: 1979
the Material: Aluminum-Bronze an alloy
the Note:
the Obverse of 25 chetrums of Bhutan the Reverse of 25 chetrums of Bhutan
Nominal value: 1 ngultrum
Stamping: 1979
the Material: the Copper-Nickel
the Note:
the Obverse 1 ngultrum of Bhutan the Reverse 1 ngultrum of Bhutan

Notes Bhutan

Save on your hotel -

Main Banknotes Coins Articles Sources

Copyright (c) RKa 2010-2014